In search of a known unknown

So, as part of WordPress.com’s Blogging 101 I was supposed to write a blog targeted at what I thought my blog’s “ideal audience” was.  The problem is, I don’t really know who that would be.  When I do write I just write whatever comes to mind even though I am aware that writing with an audience in mind is generally a good thing, especially when the writing is intended for public consumption.  So maybe I’ll write about trying to figure out what my intended audience could be.  In the meantime, however, the assignment did say to include different kinds of elements so I’ll do that as well.

This is probably my fifth attempt at making a blog in the past 10 years or so.  So far, most of it has been reposts of other people’s work which is not at all what I intended when I started it.  One of the reasons I don’t post as much original stuff is while I may not have anyone in mind when I write as far as an intended audience I do sometimes have people in mind that I wonder “I wonder what they will think when they read this?”  As I type these words it sounds pretty dumb to me now but that kind of thinking has prevented me from posting in the past.  Oddly enough I have reposted other people’s posts that say the same thing I wanted to.  Maybe it is easier when it is someone else saying it.

One of the reasons I decided to do the Blogging 101 thing was in the hopes of getting over this irrational fear and just start saying what I want to say.

Listening to other voices to figure out my own

So, how should I go about doing this? Maybe by thinking about what I like to read, I can figure out who I want to reach.

[tweet https://twitter.com/StuffCCLikes/status/619180685991907328 width=’400′ align=’center’]

While A lot of my reposts have been religious in nature, that’s not the only thing I pay attention to or the only thing  I want to write about.  Being bipolar, one thing I would like to start writing about is mental health related things such as information about disorders or  what it is like to live with a mental illness.

Also, I’m a dad to a beautiful little girl, so I have a lot of girly kid stuff going on in my life. I’ve actually written about this in the past and have been working on a post that I will hopefully actually finish soon.  In the meantime, here is my Gracie riding a flying elephant…

 

Recently (as in the past few months) I’ve had a growing interest in Anime, so maybe I could post about that?  I’m nowhere near being a hardcore otaku (basically an anime/manga fanboy/fangirl).  Currently, I’ve worked my way through all 300+ episodes of Bleach.

Just do it?

In the end I think the only way to figure out what I want to say and who I want to say it to is just to say stuff and actually post it (publicly) instead of keeping it in a draft or private format.  I have to get over my fears of what some people may say (after all, I do have my comments sent to be moderated).  Also, perhaps I should consider the inverse to my tendency to be averse towards posting what I truly think and feel about things.  That is after all what the title of my blog is supposed to be about “Life, as is.”  As far as not knowing what to post, perhaps I can just go by the suggestions made at the blog “The Daily post.”

A final thought

There are perhaps millions of blogs being written everyday, and if someone doesn’t like what they read on one there are probably many more out there that they may like instead.  However, just because someone doesn’t like or agree with a blogger does not mean they should act like a bratty 11 year old and post nasty, stupid comments on a post.   At least the blogger had the strength of will to say what they wanted to say and if all someone can come up with in response is juvenile, regurgitated, and cliché insults then don’t bother saying anything. So on behalf of most bloggers I can think of:  If you don’t like it, move on.

Leave a Reply

